Quotes from Famous People with Dyxlexia

Standard

Who knew these people had a hidden disability?

I was one of the “puzzle children” myself–a dyslexic…. And I still have a hard time reading today. Accept the fact that you have a problem. Refuse to feel sorry for yourself. You have a challenge; never quit!–Nelson Rockefeller, former Governor of New York and Vice-President of the United States (pictured)

I never read in school. I got really bad grades–D’s and F’s and C’s in some classes, and A’s and B’s in other classes. In the second week of the 11th grade, I just quit. When I was in school, it was really difficult. Almost everything I learned, I had to learn by listening. My report cards always said that I was not living up to my potential.–Cher

The looks, the stares, the giggles…. I wanted to show everybody that I could do better and also that I could read.–Magic Johnson, basketball legend

I had to train myself to focus my attention. I became very visual and learned how to create mental images in order to comprehend what I read.–Tom Cruise, actor

You should prefer a good scientist without literary abilities than a literate one without scientific skills.–Leonardo da Vinci

I couldn’t read. I just scraped by. My solution back then was to read classic comic books because I could figure them out from the context of the pictures. Now I listen to books on tape.–Charles Schwab, founder of stock brokerage

I hated school…. One of the reasons was a learning disability, dyslexia, which no one understood at the time. I still can’t spell….–Loretta Young, actress

When I had dyslexia, they didn’t diagnose it as that. It was frustrating and embarrassing. I could tell you a lot of horror stories about what you feel like on the inside.–Nolan Ryan, baseball Hall of Famer and former pitcher

Having made a strenuous effort to understand the symbols he could make nothing of, he wept giant tears . . .
–Caroline Commanville, on her uncle, author Gustave Flaubert

I was, on the whole, considerably discouraged by my school days. It was not pleasant to feel oneself so completely outclassed and left behind at the beginning of the race.–Winston Churchill

http://www.specialneeds.com/children-and-parents/dyslexia/and-now-somequotes-famous-people-dyxlexia

Don’t want to miss a post? Follow me! Click the + sign in the bottom right corner 🙂
If you enjoyed this post please LIKE it and or SHARE it. Thanks!

About aoschmidt

Founder of My College and Career Coach (Part of My Balance LLC) as well as Next Step for Special Needs (501C org) and an Emotion Code Practitioner. I LOVE helping people to prosper! I am the mother of 6 (2 mine and 4 are his) and 2 of these children have special needs. My educational background includes a BS in Psychology and a MS in Counseling and Guidance. Over the past 20 years, I have been assisting families, with special needs children, from birth to graduation and beyond, for FREE! I have been helping these families while working full time in the field of education as a school counselor and learning how the educational system works from both sides (as an educator and a parent). I have been helping families to navigate the medical and educational systems as well as obtaining other services that are available to their children. See ABOUT page for full company profile. Follow the blog via email or join us on Facebook!

Leave a Reply

