Love Between Brothers (Part 1)

Standard

This is part of one two about the love that can develop from having siblings along with special needs children. Gena is the mother of 3 children and the oldest has special needs (Gregory). Gregory just graduated from high school.

When I first learned that my unborn son, Gregory, would be born with Hydrocephalus (water on the brain), the Neurosurgeon told my husband and I that we would be better off terminating the pregnancy. He told us that we would be miserable, our child would be miserable, and our future children would be miserable. We decided to go on with the pregnancy and when Gregory was about six months old, he was smiling and giggling like crazy! We knew that he was happy, even with all of the difficulties that he had. The first couple of years, we found out that Gregory had hormone problems, seizures, he was blind, and just had countless discomforts. My husband and I decided to add another child to everything. We had worries of course. But just kept feeling strongly that it was time to have another baby. I know…Crazy! Right!?!?!! We worried that we might have another child with hydrocephalus or maybe a different disability. We went forward and our second son, Benjamin, was born. I knew that he was going to love Gregory and that he was going to be his protector and in return Gregory would be Ben’s confidante. From the beginning, I took Ben to every appointment with Gregory and I. As Ben got older he knew what Gregory’s seizures looked like, they shared a room and he watched out for Gregory at all times. He just naturally watched out for Gregory. When Ben was three and I was expecting our third child, Gregory would get pneumonia often. There was one time that I was extremely worried about Gregory and I had done everything that I knew to do. We were at the doctors office waiting to hear the results of Gregory’s x-ray. I kept praying that it would be clear and that we could go home. Well, the doctor came in and showed me the x-ray, I could see the cloudiness in his lungs. I knew that we were going to the hospital. You see, when we had to take Gregory to the hospital, I felt like a failure. Why couldn’t I make him better?!?!! I did everything that the doctor told me to do, he should have gotten better!

Part 2 tomorrow

About aoschmidt

Founder of My College and Career Coach (Part of My Balance LLC) as well as Next Step for Special Needs (501C org) and an Emotion Code Practitioner. I LOVE helping people to prosper! I am the mother of 6 (2 mine and 4 are his) and 2 of these children have special needs. My educational background includes a BS in Psychology and a MS in Counseling and Guidance. Over the past 20 years, I have been assisting families, with special needs children, from birth to graduation and beyond, for FREE! I have been helping these families while working full time in the field of education as a school counselor and learning how the educational system works from both sides (as an educator and a parent). I have been helping families to navigate the medical and educational systems as well as obtaining other services that are available to their children. See ABOUT page for full company profile. Follow the blog via email or join us on Facebook!

Leave a Reply

